skip navigation

Robles keeps Focus keepers one step ahead

By Alan Good, 04/06/18, 9:30AM EDT

A passionate coach who constantly strives to better herself, USA U21 goalkeeper Kealsie Robles brings cutting-edge techniques and concepts back to Focus to ensure our GKs’ knowledge is second to none!

Such is Kealsie Robles’ determination to master field hockey, that she isn’t just content being one of the best goalkeepers in the USA.

“I have always had the goal to go through every position in field hockey, from a player to coach to a referee,” the 21-year-old Yorktown native says. “By being a coach, I can learn things that I can incorporate back into my own personal game.”

But while Robles is a jack of all trades, she is nonetheless a master of one. First discovering field hockey when her fourth grade teacher “asked me to trade my soccer ball for a field hockey stick”, she went on to rack up an impressive honor list as a four-sport athlete at York High School.

That continued across the HRBT at Old Dominion University, where she has been a two-time NFHCA National Academic Squad member and a regular winner of weekly and annual conference and all-region awards.

Her expertise between the sticks has seen her earn call-ups to national team squads, being a member of the U19s in 2015 and the U21s since the middle of last year. The cutting-edge coaching Robles receives in Pennsylvania is passed on to our Focus goalkeepers, exposing them to techniques and concepts in their teenage years that many goalkeepers will have to wait until their college years to experience.

Robles says her coaching mission is to “help and inspire players” to fulfill their potential, citing Focus coaches Kristen McCann and Quan Nim, plus USA Field Hockey hall of farmer Amy Tran Swensen as the biggest influences on her career.